Romney, Ryan and Rand

Today I got quite a fright.  Recently I started watching Democracy Now to help get my news-fix, which is produced and presented very professionally, and saves me the trouble of having to source and read up on all the individual stories that it covers. My fright came while watching yesterday’s episode, August 13 2012, when in discussion on Paul Ryan, Mitt Romney’s pick for VP, it was revealed to me that he is a Ayn Rand fan.  This in itself is not what is frightening; I am also an Ayn Rand fan, I enjoy her novels, a lot, and I don’t consider myself frightening.  My fear arises in the level of fan he is – he, it seems, is a devote believer.

Now for anyone unfamiliar with Ayn Rand’s novels, they mostly all champion her belief called objectivism, which holds reason as its highest value and supports ethical egoism and free capitalism, and denounces the idea of altruism (charity).  Her belief was that people are in a unique position to look after their own needs, and that by spending time helping others we would be sacrificing our own happiness, as well as degrading their worth.  That is a much summarised idea of her approach to ethics – ethical egoism – but it is enough to see that these may be dangerous ideals to hold whilst in office.

Paul Ryan should be feared, because Romney is [most likely] going to win.  This is an unfortunate situation.  How do I know?  I’m in Africa, we don’t get the full propaganda dose here – they kind of just tell us who the new boss is.  Either way, I hope no one is honestly expecting any positive changes.

I swear by my life and my love of it that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.

I swear by my life and my love of it that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine. – Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging

Leave a Reply

